top of page

The Krazy Kaeberleins

Arts, Crafts & Motherhood

  • Writer's pictureKristen Kaeberlein

Co-Sleeping With My Children



Yup, I co-sleep. Oh my gosh, but that is so unsafe, isn't it? Aren't you worried about SIDS? Or rolling over and crushing your child?


First of all, parents can do what they wish with/to their children (to an extent. I don't condone abuse). It is their choice, and it is nobody's business but their own. I really don't understand why some people feel that they are entitled to say whatever they want, always adding in their 2 cents worth, ESPECIALLY when nobody asked for it. Unfortunately, that is what every parent has dealt with at one time or another. Just smile and nod, LOL, smile and nod.


So with that being said, in our house, yes, we do co-sleep. It started with my second daughter, before my hubby and I met. When she was born, I wanted to learn more natural things thanks to one of my friends. I started looking into cloth diapering. I was also breastfeeding. During the first few months after having my daughter, I had been living at my parents, but my room was in the basement -- it was not a finished basement. I did not want my daughter down there in the damp and must, so we co-slept on my parents' couch. It had 2 reclining sides to it, and I'd recline on one side with pillows around me, while she slept on my chest/ in my arms.



That continued when I got my new place, and got my own reclining couch. My best friend lived with me during this time, and helped me out with my daughter. I am so thankful that she was there. I am not sure if I have ever expressed my gratitude to her, but I truly hope she knows. When I needed a shower, or even a 5 minute break, she was there to help me and watch my daughter for me so I could catch my breath. And it was nice not being alone with just myself and my daughter. I had somebody there to vent to when I needed it. Eventually I got uncomfortable sleeping on the couch, and finally moved up to my bedroom at my new place. I put pillows on one side of the bed, with a children's bed rail, while I slept on the opposite side. My daughter slept in between the pillows and myself. Honestly, I got a lot more sleep than if she had been in a crib or her own bed. I also, of course not-so-secretly loved to cuddle with her. At the time, she was my favourite child. I tried not to have 'favourites', but secretly ALL parents have a favourite. I never treated her or her older sister any differently though.


I met my hubby when my second daughter was 2.5 years old, in which she had still been co-sleeping with me. The arrangement changed a little, where I had slept in between hubby and daughter. Then, I got pregnant with my son. I breastfed him, so co-sleeping was the easiest option for me. Our bed situation turned into something like this:



King bed, me on one side, son at my feet (I am short and never tossed and turned, so he was safe), second daughter beside me, hubby on the other side of her. And sometimes a cat or dog at hubby's feet. As my son got older and bigger, we moved my daughter to a bed right next to ours. We are battling her being afraid of the dark and being alone currently, and that is why our situation is that way. My son is now 2.5, and he sleeps between his father and I. Aside from being cramped at times, being kicked, smacked, laid on etc... I LOVE co-sleeping.


I love the cuddles at night and cuddling the babies back. I feel much safer, and sleep more peacefully when the kids are nearby / with me. Do I plan to co-sleep forever? No. Do I know exactly when I will move them on their own? No. But as of right now, I am content with how things are. Besides, it isn't like hubby and I can't be intimate. My kids, thankfully, are deep sleepers *wink wink*


So here's to all the mommies and daddies who co-sleep with their babies and / or pets!

Don't let mean people make you feel bad about it.


And of course, as with anything, there are pros and cons to co-sleeping. The pros are listed below, and are totally just my opinions:


- Regulated breathing assistance from momma

- A sense of security for baby

- Less sleep interruption for nursing mamas, and encourages breastfeeding.


Now don't forget that there are also cons to co-sleeping, which are listed below and are mostly my opinion:


- The amount of space between you and your hubby (my son hogs that space so much)

- It forces you to sleep on your side usually, which may not be comfortable or ideal especially if you are a stomach sleeper.

- Supposedly less intimacy.. but this was not true in our case. It is very easy to still have intimate time with co-sleeping babes ;)


Don't forget - They're only little once. Cherish it. I personally think co-sleeping for a while isn't a bad thing, because once your babies are grown, you're gonna miss it!


Do you co-sleep? What kind of chaotic arrangement do you guys deal with, and how old were your children when they were finally in their own beds? Let me know in the comments below! xoxo

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page